Join Us

Sign up for the lastest information from the IBEW!

Related ArticlesRelated Articles



Print This Page    Send To A Friend    Text Size:
About Us
IBEW Journal and Media Relations Department Director Jim Spellane accepts the ILCAs Saul Miller Award for graphics from Denise Mitchell (left), Assistant to the President for Communications at the AFL-CIO, and ILCA President George Burke of the International Association of Fire Fighters.

Journal Scores Big in ILCA Awards

January/February 2002 IBEW Journal

The IBEW Journal had a banner year in 2000 according to the judges of the Journalism Awards Contest sponsored by the International Labor Communications Association (ILCA). The Journal came away with five first-place awards.

The IBEW received the Saul Miller Award of Excellence (named after a longtime, legendary editor at the AFL-CIO) in the category of Graphics for its cover story from the special political issue in October 2000. This issue was a special newspaper-format publication to set it apart from the regular magazine. The judges recognized the creativity of the cover of the issue and the chart contained within that spelled out the history of federal budget deficits and unemployment rates under various Presidents of the United States over the past 40 years. The front page of the October issue was an extremely creative, contemporary montage combining a sense of the unions multiple crafts/industries combined with what politics should be in its best sense: building a better future, said the judges. Writing of the chart, they added: This was an incredible amount of historical information presented in a very clear manner; great use of color, easy-to-read typefaces, and enough curriculum material for a three-hour, upper level class in political economy.

The Journal also received a Best Series award for its articles on 2000 and Beyond which outlined the challenges and opportunities facing IBEW members in a time of rapid change. The judges also presented the Journal with a first place award for Best Original Photo, Best Front Page/Cover, and Best Column.